Education Levels in Ireland

Academic Awards At Irish Institutions
Higher Certificate: Two year full-time course
Bachelors Degree: Three year full time course (NQF Level 7)
Honours Bachelors Degree: Normally a three or four year course (NQF Level 8)

Interested in Study in Ireland?

Graduate Diploma or HIgher Diploma: Designed for graduates seeking a vocational reorientation – usually a one year course (NQF Level 8)
Masters Degree: Either by research or through a taught programme. Normally one-two year (s) duration (NQF Level 9)
Doctorate (PhD): Usually takes a minimum of three to four years of original research (NQF Level 10)

Higher Education System In Ireland

Irish higher education system includes the university sector, institutes of technology, and private independent colleges. The applying process and entry requirements depend on each institution. However, they are generally based on nation examination performance and English language aptitude.

Technological Sector – Technological Universities And Institutes Of Technology In Ireland

Typically technological sector consists of technological universities ( TUs) and institutes of technology (ITs). The Technological Universities Act 2018 allowed institutes of technology to apply to become a new type of higher education institution with technological university status. TUs and ITs provide programmes of education and training in areas such as business, science, engineering, linguistics and music to certificate, diploma and degree levels.

There are 11 institutes of technology in Ireland located around the country. In the Dublin area there is Dun Laoghaire. Outside Dublin they are Cork, Waterford, Tralee, Dundalk, Athlone, Galway and Mayo, Sligo, Letterkenny, Limerick, and Carlow.

On 1 January 2019, Dublin Institute of Technology (DIT), Institute of Technology Tallaght and Institute of Technology Blanchardstown joined together to form Technological University Dublin (TU Dublin).

Technological universities (TUs) make their own awards. Institutes of technology (ITs) grant degrees, diplomas and certificates, which are validated by QQI. Students of TUs and ITs generally qualify with Higher Certificates (NFQ Level 6) or Ordinary Bachelors degrees (NFQ Level 7). Honours Bachelors degrees (NFQ Level 8), Postgraduate Diplomas (NFQ Level 9) and Higher Doctorate (NFQ Level 10) are also available

Ireland Education System in Colleges and Universities

Universities and Colleges in Ireland ensures specialized training for primary school teachers. They provide a 3-year Bachelor of Education degree and an 18-month postgraduate diploma. Post-primary teachers generally do a primary degree, followed by a postgraduate diploma.
In addition to State-funded colleges, a number of fee-paying third-level educational institutions offer courses, mainly in professional vocational training and business. Some of these colleges are linked to universities or professional associations and their qualifications may be accredited accordingly.
The other State-supported colleges generally grant awards that are validated by QQI. The private colleges make awards, some of which are validated by foreign universities and some of which are validated by QQI. Some of their awards are not validated by any outside body.

Quick Links : Study in Ireland

Explore Here For Motivational Student's Success Stories

Check out the opinions of our students.

Testimonials- What Our Students Say

Get Free Counseling